SlimZz Spider-Man Review PlayStation Exclusive

About a week ago I was on the PlayStation Store looking at different games coming out and sales. Of course, the first big thing that comes up is the new Spider-Man that was released 7 September 2018. Now keep in mind I haven’t played a single player console game for a LONG time. The last ‘open world’ console game I played was Grand Theft Auto Vice City, yes you read correctly Vice City which was released in 2002. I went back and watched the reveal video for Spider-Man that was shown at E3 in 2017, and continued to do a little research on YouTube and finally decided to pre-order the game. Coming from someone who NEVER plays these games, I can safely say I am in love with this game. So in this review, I am going to go over everything I love and something that perhaps could change but honestly, everything about it is great.

As always, my reviews will be a spoiler-free zone so don’t worry I won’t give away anything from the storyline at all.

Marvel-Spider-Man

Graphics & Overall Visuals

Let’s just go ahead and get this out of the way. These graphics are amazing and that honestly undersells the true aspect of the visuals. Usually, I play this game on my Samsung QLED Monitor and it makes everything just incredible.  I personally also own a PlayStation 4 Pro so I know that it helps but even on a regular PlayStation 4 it still looks REALLY good.

Then when you start swinging yourself around New-York and it literally just puts you in a trance. I legit didn’t stop swinging around for about 30 minutes and I wasn’t even doing the story missions or side missions.Spider-Man_PS4_Preview_Swing_Day_1532954579

I was just swinging my heart out. It goes without saying playing this game on a 4K TV with a PS4 Pro is definitely the way it should be played. Now if you don’t have a 4K TV or PS4 Pro it’s fine the game is still going to look amazing and you should still make this purchase because of the most important element in any game. The actual gameplay content.

Gameplay Content

Now first we will address the most important piece of any spiderman game. The web-slinging. Of course, nothing is perfect but this is damn close to it. As long as your web has somewhere to go then you will be able to swing. One thing to note is that you can upgrade your skills for extra moves to increase your speed but the key to success is momentum. After a few hours, I started to learn how to use the slow motion feature to help me pinpoint where I want to go swing to next. I suggest just spending a little time roaming the map to help improve your web-slinging skills plus its just super fun to do.

Now when it comes to the story missions and side missions I feel like they did a good job of always having something for you to go enjoy.  The open world aspect of the game feels fresh and gives you the option of doing literally whatever you want.  After the main story mission, there are still little things for the completionist to go for and crime in the city to stop. Of course, there are a crazy amount of Easter eggs out there to find as there should be in the Marvel Universe.Spider-Man_PS4_Crouch

Combat System

Now since we are talking about fighting crime let’s talk about the combat system. Usually, in open world games like this, the combat system can get repetitive quick but that isn’t the case with Spider-Man. Finishing off a bad guy with that perfect combo or in the air is just super fun and fluid. Some combat fights can be a bit difficult too if you don’t use your web and mobility effectively. Being in the air, of course, is the best way to fight in most scenarios but not all of them so keep that in mind. Being able to unlock more combat techniques and abilities also help with keeping things fresh. You can also try to tap into your stealthy side and do convert ops by taking out enemies quickly and quietly which is always fun. The flow of combat is just super smooth and I have yet to get bored with it.Spider-Man-combat-Press-shot-2.jpg

Which brings me to my next point in the gameplay. Replayability. After you complete the main story (which is amazing) the main concern can be what to do next. I can honestly say that I can definitely see myself having some fighting crime streams where I will be spending hours swinging across New York as your friendly neighborhood Spider-Man. I wish they could make a Superman game like this and I would never leave my TV screen.

 

What could they improve?

Honestly, since I haven’t played a game like this in over a decade I don’t know what they could do to improve this title. This game is literally just amazing and gets nothing but praise from me. I am no hardcore spiderman fan at all but I can say anytime I start playing this game it is really hard to put the controller down. Of course, I do wish you could play this on PC because it would be gorgeous but I digress.

Spider-Man-768x432

Hopefully, some more DLCs will release to bring more content for us to explore in the Spider-Man universe.  The current size of the map is fairly large and I could see taking fast travel instead of swinging in some cases but that will be a rarity for me.  hqdefault.jpg

Overall

Spider-Man gets a well deserved 10/10 from Slimzz.  The visuals combined with a great story and amazing replayability makes this PlayStation exclusive 100% worth it.  If you don’t have a PS4 Pro they do offer the special Spider-Man edition that pretty much gives you the game for free with the system.175885b.jpg

If you like this review go ahead and drop a comment to let me know.  Please give me feedback on ways I can improve also.

As always follow me on twitter for all updates having to do with SlimzzTV and share this review if you think its worth the read.  I want to personally thank you for your time checking out my review and give me some other games to check out to review.  As I said before I have never played a game even close to this in a decade but I think I am about to start looking for some more games to try out!

gallery-1536085566-marvels-spider-man-ps4-game-playstation-4-review-2.jpg

Thanks again for ‘Hanging” out with me!

SlimZz

1 thought on “SlimZz Spider-Man Review PlayStation Exclusive

  1. Thanks for doing this review. I havent gotten the game yet but now this cements my decision on whether to get it or not.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close